FASHION & TRENDS

The Perfect Look for Your Office Party!

November 15, 2018

Are you worried about making the wrong kind of fashion statement at your holiday office party? Here are a few tips to create an appropriate—and beautiful!—look for the occasion!

Before jumping head first into dress shopping, take the time to ask about any possible dress codes for the event. The next step? Follow the dress code as closely as possible! Feeling over or underdressed can be a real party spoiler! If the invitation doesn’t mention a dress code, the venue and time of the event should be a good indicator of what and what not to wear. For instance, an elegant evening gown is perfect for a soiree in a prestigious hotel, but it wouldn’t quite do the trick for a cocktail party downtown.

Simple and Subtle
It’s all about balance. Choose an outfit that’s sober yet stylish, classy yet original. Take it easy on the sequins, glitter and sparkles . . . You wouldn’t want anyone mistaking you for the Christmas tree! Something else to remember: keep it down to one showpiece! In other words, if you choose an extravagant dress, go easy on the shoes and accessories. On the other hand, if your dress is simple, turn to accessories to glam up your look. That said, a novelty necklace should be paired with discreet earrings. Likewise, the size of a bracelet should be inversely proportional to the size of your rings.

Elegance 101
Too tight, too short, too revealing: three definite no-no’s in a professional setting—no matter your field of work. The same is true for see-through clothes (see-through effects are all the rage right now, but these looks are best kept for parties with friends or family), fabrics that wrinkle easily and sky-high heels, especially if you’re not used to wearing them.

With or Without Tights?
Tights are definitely optional. With the right dress, tights can easily be left in your drawer. If you’re planning on going bare-legged, remember to hydrate your legs in the days leading up to the event and use a self-tanner if needed. On the other hand, if you decide to wear tights, choose a nude colour (some are practically invisible), ombre or sheer. Avoid going too dark as this will make your outfit sterner-looking and less elegant.

A Touch of Fantasy
The holidays are all about enjoying yourself and dressing up! Lace, sequins (in small amounts) and velvet, for instance, are all very festive and elegant materials. And besides black, mauve, emerald green and midnight blue are colours that stand out and are easily accessorized.

Get inspired . . .
Le Château
San Francisco
Vero Moda
Mélanie Lyne
Zara
Browns
Caroline Néron

Go to top

MODE & TENDANCES

Party de bureau: la tenue parfaite!

15 novembre 2018

Vous craignez de faire un faux pas vestimentaire au party de Noël du bureau? Ces quelques conseils mode vous aideront à faire bonne et belle impression!

Avant de vous lancer tête première à la recherche de la tenue parfaite, prenez le temps de vous informer sur le code vestimentaire de l’évènement. Ensuite, respectez-le le plus possible! Vous sentir «trop habillée» ou, à l’inverse, «trop décontractée», risque fort de gâcher une partie de votre soirée! S’il n’y a pas de mention concernant le code vestimentaire sur l’invitation, le lieu et l’heure de la journée devraient vous fournir des indices sur ce qui est approprié de porter ou pas. Par exemple, une chic robe de soirée est parfaite si la soirée a lieu dans un grand hôtel, mais un peu moins dans un resto urbain pour un 5 à 7.

Simplicité et subtilité
C’est une question d’équilibre: vous devez choisir une tenue à la fois sobre mais stylée, classe mais originale. Dosez le brillant, le clinquant et les paillettes, vous ne souhaitez assurément pas rivaliser avec le sapin! À retenir également: on mise sur un atout uniquement! Par exemple, si votre robe attire l’attention, allez-y mollo avec les accessoires et les chaussures. Si, par contre, vous optez pour une petite robe toute simple, vous pouvez sans problème y ajouter de la fantaisie! Autre exemple: un collier volumineux doit être accompagné de boucles d’oreilles discrètes, tandis que la taille d’un bracelet devrait être inversement proportionnelle à la dimension des bagues.

Élégance 101
Trop serré, trop court et trop plongeant: à éviter absolument dans un contexte professionnel, peu importe le domaine dans lequel vous travaillez. Idem pour les vêtements transparents (les effets de transparence sont tendance, mais mieux vaut les réserver aux réceptions en famille ou entre amis), les tissus qui froissent rapidement et les talons vertigineux, particulièrement si vous n’avez pas l’habitude d’en porter.

Collant ou pas?
Le collant n’est pas obligatoire. Avec une belle robe, vous pouvez très bien vous en passer. Pour exhiber vos jambes nues, pensez à bien les hydrater les jours précédant l’événement et appliquez un autobronzant si nécessaire. Si vous préférez en porter, optez pour un modèle couleur chair (certains passent pratiquement inaperçus), ombrés ou voilés, mais pas trop foncés, ce qui risquerait de donner une allure sévère et enlever du chic à l’ensemble.

Touche de fantaisie
Les Fêtes, c’est tout de même l’occasion de s’éclater un peu et de s’habiller chic! La dentelle, les paillettes (à petite dose) et le velours, par exemple, sont des matières festives et élégantes. Outre le noir, le mauve, le vert émeraude et le bleu nuit comptent parmi les couleurs qui sortent de l’ordinaire tout en étant faciles à accessoiriser.

Pour vous inspirer…
Le Château
San Francisco
Vero Moda
Mélanie Lyne
Zara
Browns
Caroline Néron

Remontez