FASHION & TRENDS

Let’s get ready for Halloween!

September 28, 2018

To the delight of kids big and small, Halloween is just around the corner! The three key words to dressing up all your little ones are TIME (start as early as possible!), IMAGINATION (Internet is a great place to get inspired!) and CRAFTING (a little, a lot, like crazy . . . depending on your skill level!).

Recycle & reuse

Department stores and speciality shops are full of costumes of all shapes and sizes, but have you ever thought of reusing something you already own—or at least part of it? Go through your closets and drawers to find outdated items or items that are showing a little wear and tear. For instance, a large adult-sized t-shirt can be used to make the dress of a witch or a princess, and a long skirt is perfect for a gypsy or a female pirate! An old black or red sheet can easily transform into a cape, and cat or rabbit ears can be attached onto a tuque. Here’s a tip: If you don’t want to go to the trouble of making a hem, use pinking shears to prevent fraying. Be resourceful!

Take it up a notch with accessories

A pirate simply wouldn’t be a pirate without a sword. And could you imagine a witch without a pointed hat? On-point accessories have the power to transform the most basic costumes into elaborate disguises. And don’t forget about wigs—they can work miracles in the blink of an eye! Besides traditional Halloween stores, accessory shops are a great place to find fairly priced scarves, hats and jewellery. What’s more, make sure to choose a loot bag that matches your child’s costume: an orange bucket for your little pumpkin, an old purse for your beautiful little princess or a black pillow case for your scary skeleton!

Makeup is paramount

You don’t have to be an accomplished artist to pull off great Halloween makeup. The secret is to start with a template, it’s much easier! There are also excellent makeup tutorials online for all styles. Or how about using stencils or wash-off tattoos? Just make sure that the products you use are hypoallergenic. Children tend to have sensitive and highly reactive skin. You’ll also want to wash your brushes thoroughly before using them. Visit a speciality costume store to find face painting pencils, colours and glitter. One last tip: Have at least one practice run before the big day!

GET INSPIRED …

Halloween Expert
Ardène
Claire’s
Dollarama
Walmart
Franc Jeu

Go to top

DÉCO & STYLE DE VIE

On prépare l’Halloween!

28 septembre 2018

Fête tant attendue des enfants, l’Halloween arrive à grands pas! Les mots d’ordre pour réussir à costumer tout votre petit monde avec brio: temps (on commence le plus tôt possible!), imagination (internet est là pour ça au besoin!) et bricolage (un peu, beaucoup, passionnément, selon vos talents!).

Recyclez et réutilisez

Les grands magasins et les boutiques spécialisées fourmillent bien sûr de costumes de toutes sortes, mais avez-vous pensé à la réutilisation, du moins en partie? Ouvrez vos placards et partez à la recherche de pièces démodées, usées ou abîmées. Par exemple, un grand t-shirt d’adulte peut servir de base à une robe de sorcière ou de princesse, et une jupe longue sera parfaite pour une tenue de bohémienne ou de femme pirate! Un vieux drap noir ou rouge peut facilement se métamorphoser en cape et une tuque permet de fixer des oreilles de chat ou de lapin. Une astuce: si vous ne voulez pas faire d’ourlets, coupez les tissus avec des ciseaux à cranter pour éviter qu’ils ne s’effilochent. À vos méninges!

Jouez avec les accessoires

Que serait un pirate sans son épée ou une sorcière sans son chapeau? Des accessoires bien choisis transforment le plus simple des costumes et le rendent facilement reconnaissable. Pensez aussi aux perruques, elles font de petits miracles en un clin d’oeil! En plus des traditionnels magasins d’Halloween, allez fouiner du côté des boutiques d’accessoires; plusieurs y proposent écharpes, chapeaux, bijoux et foulards à petits prix. Adaptez aussi le contenant pour le ramassage des bonbons au déguisement de votre enfant: un seau orange pour votre petite citrouille, un vieux sac à main pour la jolie princesse ou une taie d’oreiller noire pour votre terrifiant squelette!

Misez sur le maquillage

Nul besoin d’être un artiste ultradoué pour réaliser un maquillage réussi. La clé: partez d’un modèle, c’est beaucoup plus facile! Vous trouverez aussi sur le web d’excellents tutoriels de maquillages de tous les styles. Vous pouvez également opter pour des dessins à l’aide de pochoirs ou utiliser des tatouages temporaires. Veillez toujours à ce que les produits que vous utilisez soient hypoallergéniques. Les enfants ont la peau sensible et particulièrement réactive. Nettoyez bien vos pinceaux avant de les utiliser. Vous trouverez crayons, palettes de couleurs et paillettes nécessaires dans les magasins spécialisés en déguisements. Un dernier conseil: exercez-vous au moins une fois avant le jour J!

POUR VOUS INSPIRER…

Halloween Expert
Ardène
Claire’s
Dollarama
Walmart
Franc Jeu

Remontez